Spider in the bath, spider in the bath

When Sam was a toddler there was a kid's cartoon called 'Spider' – and the theme tune was

Spider in the bath, spider in the bath,

There's a creepy crawly creepy crawly spider in the bath
You know he's only there 'cos he wants to have a laugh,
With hairy legs and beady eyes he'll terrify and tantalise –
and so on, for many more verses (which I can recite by heart, because some things never leave you)

When I went for my swim yesterday there was an absolutely enormous spider in the pool – I fished it out with the net, and the damned thing was still wriggling, even 'though I could swear it'd been completely waterlogged a few minutes previously. Do spiders have some kind of regeneration thing going? Do they breathe? Today, the janitor came and told me I couldn't swim as they had put chemicals in the pool this morning. I asked if they were cleaning out the spiders, the response was that the chemicals might kill them, but they'd still be in the water.

Now I'm in a real quandary about tomorrow – will the spiders have mutated into weird cryogenic (the pool's freezing, the heating's been off for a week now) robotic spider-things. Alternately, should I have rushed down this morning and rescued as many as I could before the chemicals took effect? Will I go in and find a mat of floating dead things – and will I be up to swimming in the pool after I've fished them all out (probably, the temptation of swimming will overcome my relatively minor scruples about dead things).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

