blood and gore

As I emerged into the kitchen this morning (pre-coffee) I could hear a sort of plasticky banging noise, interspersed with frantic miaows. That would be the noise our rather stupid cat makes when he has lost his collar (for the second time in a week) with the little magnetic mouse-thingy on it that opens his cat-flap. And he wants breakfast. And he's stuck outside.

So, I let him in (without really looking – still pre-caffeine), and started sorting out cat food. Mad Casper was doing what he normally does at this point, walking round and round my legs in an attempt to trip me up before I get cat-breakfast served. So, I looked at him – to find that he was covered in blood. His normally fluffy white chest was dramatically gore-stained, as was his nose, mouth, chin and paws.


He seemed quite happy, so I assumed that he'd killed something bloodily and hadn't got around to washing himself, but on more careful examination tonight (and some unwelcome help with washing) he looks as though he has been in a fight  – perhaps it was a very big rabbit? Or even one of the sheep? He's curled up on the settee tonight with Handsome because that way he gets lots of love and affection, and I've just sent Mouse to tape over the magnet on the cat flap so he can get back in tomorrow morning.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment