Stay-at-home husband

Handsome was supposed to be going away on a school trip leaving Mouse and me in perfect peace to fend for ourselves for a week. However, with his bags almost packed and the sun cream ready to be slathered on, he reached for something in a top cupboard this morning and did his back in. So, he has spent today moving as little as possible and very very carefully, and the trip organiser has no doubt spent today attempting to find someone else to go.

I've just realised that all the food for this week was bought in double not triple quantities, Mouse'll be going hungry!

I have spent today proving (yet again) that I am totally inept (and possibly a bit girly?) when it comes to anything to do with tools. All I was trying to do was fix some chicken-wire along the missing panels of the fence between us and next door – because although I really appreciate his escapingsometimes-free-range chickens, I don't appreciate them eating my lettuce. Actually it was a learning point for me that chickens eat lettuce…

Anyway, my attempts to fix chicken-wire failed totally at the point when I ran out of staples for the staple gun. I had just about managed to do one panel before that – it's not really squint, it's deliberately sculpted to be more attractive, that's why there's a big wavy bit at the top and the bottom is uneven. It's meant to be like that. Maybe if I persevere I can make it look like this…

I'll get some more staples tomorrow.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Stay-at-home husband

  1. Freedom Smith says:

    LOL!!!!  I laughed out loud at the picture of the horse.  My daughter is giving me strange looks now.  I love the way you cross through words and write other words.  It adds a lot to your posts 🙂  I am not very good with tools either.  I call Chad when I have a tool need.  Good for you, for trying to fix it.

    Sorry about your husbands bad back.  That changes your entire week!  Hope you can get to the store for more food!!

  2. Katelyn says:

    Feed the chickens your weeds!  They’ll go nuts for them, and just might leave your lettuce alone.

  3. Jerusha says:

    That would be a good idea – if I hadn’t just spent the last two hours fixing the fence!

  4. Katelyn says:

    I’d still toss the weeds over to them, that way they’ll have no reason to want to leave their side of the fence.  And to just get rid of the weeds.

Leave a Reply

