I quite like my job sometimes

I spent some time today working with a sixteen-year-old on her application for college – she found it hard to write down in sentences what she could quite easily tell me, about why she wanted to do the course, and what she had done on work experience, and why this was obviously the right course for her. The words she had written down didn’t sound like her, they sounded like a generic thing that careers advisers tell kids to write on forms.

We printed out a new form and talked about what to put down, I made a few ‘phone calls to check things she wasn’t sure about, and we got it ready to go to her referees. She left with a big grin on her face, having said ‘thank you’ repeatedly. It left me feeling as though I had achieved something too, even although it was quite easy for me! I hope she gets her place, it would obviously mean a lot to her.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

