comfort

Today the only wildlife around are ducks… It was raining heavily when I woke up this morning; I got my feet wet going into work (there was a totally unexpected puddle just outside the front door) and I don’t tend to have spare shoes around, so I started off the day cold and miserable.

By home time it had been raining all day, and the drains and gutters outside the building were running. I had that situation where you leave the building with a colleague who is both taller and larger than oneself… and they attempt to share your umbrella. I thought I might be saved as the colleague was male and the umbrella was very pink – but no, it was raining very heavily by then. He did offer to hold said umbrella, which meant, of course, that I had absolutely no chance of staying dry because it was way too far above my head, and some distance sideways!

At least he let me take it back when we got to his car.

So I drove home through puddles and standing water, with a car whose side windows kept steaming up because I was so wet. And cold.

And all of the above is why I am now watching comfort TV (you don’t want to know, it’s too embarrassing) and drinking hot chocolate whilst wrapped in a soft, stripy, woolly blanket and wearing my new slippers.

This entry was posted in Journal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

