selfish walking

Today was a gorgeous day – misty in the valleys and tops when we left the house, but the sun was already cutting through as we headed towards Peebles, and by the time we got to the Border Hills it was bright and clear. This was a Silver Duke of Edinburgh walk, and Handsome and I were walking between the two groups who were walking from Kirkhouse, by Traquair to Tibbie Shiels.

I only got to walk half-way, and then I had to turn back and retrace my steps to the car, through group two (who were full of curiosity about why I was leaving) and past my colleague who was trailing them (their map reading skills are not quite as good as they think they are), and then suddenly I was completely on my own in the middle of the incredible multicoloured hills.

I love walking on my own.

Don’t get me wrong, I love walking with groups of kids, and I love walking with Handsome, and I am perfectly happy walking with friends and colleagues, but there is something very special about being in an empty landscape, with all the time in the world to look around and hours to get to where you are going. I did not meet another person all the way back to the car, but I had hills rolling away from me in all directions and all the autumnal colours you could imagine – it was bliss. You really can’t capture the colours in photographs (although I obviously tried), and you definitely cannot catch the feeling.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in Journal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

