health and insanity

I had a slight contretemps with a swing door today – it swung back just as I put my hand up to stop it, I caught it on slightly the wrong angle and jarred my arm. A bit sore, some (fairly standard for me) pins and needles, and a note to self to try to pay attention a little more when going through doors… I had been reading a letter and talking to someone while walking fairly mindlessly along the corridor.

To my horror, when I went to beg two ibrufrofen pain killers from the management, I was told that I should fill in an accident form. Really? The only people involved were me and the door – the door didn’t appear to be damaged, and I was fully aware that it was my own fault.

I did read the form – the questions didn’t seem to apply…

  • Q. What caused the accident?
  • A. The clumsiness of the Librarian.
  • Q. What action could be put into place to prevent repetition of the accident?
  • A. Remove all doors.
  • A2. Remove Librarian.
  • A3. Repaint doors in a less offensive colour, thereby making Librarian less likely to avert her eyes and therefore more likely to spot door swinging towards her.
  • A4. Genetically modify Librarian to make her less clumsy.

Nope – I decided not to bother with the form, and just to take the painkillers. They worked, I’m fine, the door unfortunately is still pink.

This entry was posted in Journal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to health and insanity

  1. dderbydave says:

    Same in our workplace. If I cut my finger I sneak in for a plaster to avoid over eager managers who want to fill h&s forms. I’m sure they get extra bonus the more of them they do.

Leave a Reply

