taking the long way home

We took Mouse back to Stirling this afternoon, via a large supermarket where he did his usual version of emotional blackmail – ‘If I buy the supersaver bread, can I have chocolate digestives? I write essays better with chocolate digestives…’ and ‘I need anchovies and parma ham so I can cook a quick dinner and still have time to go to the library.’

He is not fooling me one iota, but I still bought him the chocolate digestives and the parma ham because I love him, and I’m really happy that he actually cooks and that he doesn’t exist on pizza and pot noodles. I bought him a stapler as well, so that he doesn’t have to brave the scary electric one in the library!

I left him happily unpacking his shopping in his garret – it was remarkably tidy for once.

modernHandsome and I decided that we couldn’t face the motorway yet again on the way back, so we meandered back through the little towns and villages between Stirling and Falkirk – we intended to stop for coffee, but failed to find anywhere; luckily Handsome knew there was a cafe at the Falkirk Wheel and got there just in time to see the wheel go around, complete with narrow boats (which you can’t traditionalreally see well in the photo, but they’re in the bottom left cut-out). I think it’s hilarious that there’s this wonderfully technical super-lock on one side of the basin, and on the other side… there’s an old fashioned, traditional lock.

This entry was posted in Journal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to taking the long way home

  1. I think that is a sign of sophistication asking for Parma ham and anchovies – I don’t think I’d even heard of them when I was at University! Of course, you definitely NEED choc digestives to study. Nice parenting!

  2. dderbydave says:

    This wheel’s superb. Seen it on TV a few times. Have to go and see it live.

  3. Suburban Mum says:

    That wheel is amazing! I’ve never seen or heard of it before.

    Love your son’s requests and reasoning. I like his thinking!

  4. mumof4 says:

    I had no idea what parma ham was in my Uni days! Well done on raising such a culinary whizz! And his reasoning is quite impressive too!

Leave a Reply

