Trivial Pursuits

Days, weeks, months… I am still here, it’s just been a really tough term, and I’ve often not had the energy to do anything expect hunker down with a good book (or several good books) after work, and climbing, and walking with kids and all the other bits and pieces I do. However, I have decided that life is too short to do housework, ever, at all, so that should give me a little bit of free time in the future. I’ll treat the house the same way as I deal with ovens – when it all gets so bad that I cannot cope, I’ll sell it and start again!

Term has officially finished and I had a party for my team of helpers this morning. I fed them masses of unhealthy food (well, skittles and crisps mainly) and we played silly games and did a bit of ceilidh dancing, in fact, I managed to get rid of a number of not-invited gawkers (we have glass-panelled doors) by suggesting that I needed a partner for the Canadian Barn Dance – some of them actually ran away. To prove that education goes both ways, I now know how to do the Macarena… It took three goes before I got the hands-on-hips twice bit right, I was not helped by having a right handed child on one side of me and a left-handed one on the other. Very confusing. There was a lot of giggling involved – some, but not all, was mine.

And now, I am sitting in the lounge, with the wood-burner chuntering away while the wind howls outside. Mouse is cooking in the kitchen (gnocchi with chorizo), tomorrow we’ll actually retrieve the tree from the bucket in the garage and put it up, and decorate it. I have lots of wrapping to do… and biscotti and gingernuts and oatcakes to make – nearly there!

This entry was posted in Journal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment